Delete Facebook Account | Deactivate my Facebook account instantly

Delete Facebook Account

Maybe you are done with Facebook and want to stop using your account instantly. I will show how to quickly delete Facebook account and ensure your data is permanently wiped. But do you really want to get rid of your Facebook account? You might want to delete or deactivate your account for any number of reasons, for example, you don’t want to use the platform anymore, or you want to start an account from fresh.

It all relies on your reasons for deleting your account, you might want to get things done as quickly as possible. Fortunately, Facebook enables you to delete your account in a few simple steps. While there is grace period deactivation, your account will no longer be visible after it has been deleted permanently.

In this article, I will teach you exactly how to delete Facebook account. I will also explain some precautions you may want to take to ensure all of your information is permanently deleted, and offer alternatives to account deletion that may be more suitable for some users.

It’s to call your attention that before you go ahead and delete your FB account, you should make sure you’re doing so for the right reasons and have taken any necessary steps required. We’ll go into more detail on these below but here are a few quick questions to answer before you proceed to delete or deactivate your account.

Do you only want to change your username? If this is the case, you don’t need to delete your account and start a new one. Facebook allows you to change your username to one that isn’t already taken. This way, you won’t lose any of your friends and you can choose if you want to keep any or all of your posts.





Do you want to set up a new Facebook account with the same username or email address associated with your current one? If so, you should do this before you deactivate your account.

Is it that you don’t want to see your past post on Facebook but can’t face give it the time of deleting them one by one? Instead of deleting your account and starting over, you can use you the option that allows you to select all and delete at a click.

Delete Facebook account

Deleting your Facebook account permanently

It’s cool that deleting your account just takes a few simple steps. To delete your account, you need to deactivate it. This tells Facebook you want to delete it. Deactivation will immediately remove your account so people won’t see your profile send you a friend, however; permanent deletion won’t happen until 30 days after deactivation. Keep in mind that;

  • Once you have deleted your Facebook account that you won’t be able to reactivate your it.
  • You can start over on Facebook after you’ve deleted your account. But if you want to use the same username or email address, you should make the switch before you delete your existing account.
  • All your activities such as post, pictures, videos, and any other contents that have on Facebook will be erased permanently you may not even be able to have them back.
  • All the apps you connected to your Facebook account will not be able accessible again, including all login you made with the account.
  • Message you and chat you had with your friends will still be viewable by them

Deactivate Facebook account (Guide)

Deactivating your Facebook account allows you to reactivate it whenever you think fit, it means that you don’t want to remove your account permanently.

  • To deactivate your account go to Facebook.com and login to your account, after doing this, click the account menu at the top right of your homepage.
  • Scroll down and select Settings and then click General in the left column or you can go to web.facebook.com/settings?tab=account
  • Select Manage your account take the instructions to deactivate the account

After deactivating my Facebook account what happens?

Once you’ve confirmed your account deactivation, your Facebook account and any associated information will no longer be accessible via the platform. However, it will take up to 30 days for Facebook to start the process of deleting your account. Full account deletion can take up to an additional week.

Within the 30-day period, you can reactivate your account at any time just by logging in and confirming reactivation. This is good news for anyone who has deactivated their Facebook account in error or has a change of heart a few days or weeks after closing their account.

You Might Like: Ultimate Guide For New Facebook Account Sign Up

However, it does mean that your username and email address will remain tied to that account for those 30 days, so you can’t use them on another account.

What happens to my Facebook posts?

Note that some profiles and Facebook might still show up online in search engines or internet archives.

Deleted Facebook posts from deactivated or deleted accounts can show up in search results for some time (until those pages are re-crawled). If links to deleted profiles and posts exist, clicking on them will take you to an error page, but their content could still be visible on the search engine results page itself.

Can I change my Facebook name?

If you want to change the username on your existing account, you can simply click the menu icon on your main account page, go to Settings and privacy > Account > Login and security, and change your username.

But what if you want to use your existing username on another account? You might assume that deactivating your account will immediately free up your username for use elsewhere. But this isn’t the case. Facebook is a large community and has many users with the same name, you see up to a thousand Facebook users with the exact name, both first and last name.

The only thing Facebook does is that you can’t be allowed to use one phone number or email to create two accounts, it highly prohibited. It only allows one account per email address).

Can I save my Facebook data before deleting my account?

When you delete your Facebook accounts, chances are you might want to keep some of the data stored on the platform. Facebook makes it simple to download all of your data, including posts, media, and messages.

What is the difference between deleting and deactivating my Facebook account?

Deactivating your account will remove your account from Facebook but the action is reversible. Deactivation signals to Facebook that you want to delete your account, but the deletion process won’t begin until 30 days after you deactivate. Deactivation is reversible for those 30 days, but once your account is deleted, it can’t be recovered.

Can I use the same email to create another Facebook account?

Just as I mentioned previously, you are not allowed to have multiple Facebook accounts associated with the same email. But you can change the email address associated with an existing account. When you deactivate your account, the associated email address won’t be available for 30 days.

If you want to set up a new account with that email right away, your best bet is to change the email on the account you’re going to delete before you deactivate it.

No, you can’t have two Facebook accounts associated with the same email or username. To use the same email or username on another account, transfer first, and then deactivate your existing account.

Can I get my friends back?

Had a change of heart and want to reactivate your account? During the 30-day deactivation period, your friends remain untouched. So when you reactivate, unless someone has actively unfriend or blocked you, your numbers should be the same.

I hope this article helped?