Being blocked on Instagram is not fun for anyone. Getting blocked can take on a whole new dimension in terms of unnerving experiences. Instagram makes the act of blocking someone a confidential matter and does not offer any tools to help you discover if you have been blocked or not.
However, with a bit of detective work, you can usually determine if you have been blocked. Remember that just because someone is no longer visible in your list of followers does not necessarily mean you have been blocked. You may have been “unfollowed,” the person may have deleted their account or Instagram may have suspended their account.
If someone has blocked you, rather than simply discontinued your friendship, his name will not show up in your account’s search results. Try typing the person’s name in the search field at the top of your Instagram home page.
If you don’t see that person, you may have been blocked. However, he may have simply changed his security settings to prevent anyone but followers from searching for him. Try logging out of Instagram or toggling to your business account.
Also, try searching for the person again. If the person is not visible in a public search or from your business account, you may have been blocked. If the person is visible in a public search, but not visible in a search from your personal account, you’ve been blocked.
Also, Instagram Mutual followers can be a good indicator to see if someone has blocked you on Instagram. Scroll to a profile of someone who was a mutual follower with the person you suspect has blocked you. A list of some of her current followers is on their profile page. Click the “See All” link at the top of the list.
A search field appears at the top of the page, which you can use to type the person’s name. If the person’s profile appears, you have not been blocked. If it doesn’t appear, you may have been blocked. While few people have their followers listed publicly if you can find such a person, try logging out of Instagram and looking at their list of followers.
If the person is visible there, but not when you were logged in, you have been blocked.
If you can remember any posts the person has placed on your profile, business page, or a mutual follower’s page in the past, finding those posts now can indicate whether you’ve been blocked. If you have been blocked, the Wall posts will still be visible, however, his profile picture will be replaced with a question mark.
Additionally, the person’s name will be in black text and will no longer be a clickable link to his profile page
So far, all of the above methods are ways you can determine if you have been blocked without drawing attention to yourself. To determine without a doubt if you have not been blocked, try sending an Instagram Facebook message to the person.
If you receive a reply, you have not been blocked. You can also ask mutual followers if they have seen the person on Instagram recently. If no one has, the person may have deleted her account or may have been suspended from Instagram.
Lastly, you can ask your followers, or the person directly, whether you have been blocked.